Total: $0.00 AUD

Annual YOGIE Awards Winners 2013

On 27 November 2013, the Youth Coalition celebrated 10 years of the Annual YOGIE Awards. These Awards recognise, celebrate, promote and reward outstanding practice in working with young people in the ACT and surrounding areas. The YOGIES highlight the exceptional commitment, talent and innovation that exist in the youth sector. The YOGIES are presented annually by the Minster for Children and Young People. Awards are presented in 10 categories that recognise the work of groups and individuals, with young people, workers, individuals, programs and services invited to provide nominations. 

The winners this year were: 

Organisation, Service, Program or Project Award Categories:

1. Outstanding Achievement in Youth Participation Award: 
Winner: headspace ACT Youth Reference Group, headspace ACT
Commendation: Alternative Programs, ACT Education and Training Directorate

2. Innovation in Practice Award:
Winner: Youth Law Centre
Commendation: After Hours Bail Support Service, Office of Children, Youth and Family Support

3. Collaboration for Change Award:
Winner: Emergency Accommodation Network, Salvation Army Oasis Youth Network & Canberra Youth Residential Service

4. Excellence in Research and Evaluation Award: 
Winner: Experiencing Out of Home Care in Australia: the Views of Children and Young People, CREATE Foundation
Commendation: Identity and Meaning for Vulnerable Young People Project, Institute of Child Protection Studies

5. Excellence in Organisational Practice Award:
Winner: After Hours Bail Support Service, Office for Children, Youth and Family Support
Commendation: Youth Law Centre ACT

Individual Award Categories: 

1. Outstanding Youth Worker Award:
Winner: Braithe Thomson, Youth Services, Communities@Work
Commendation: Aaron Pakula, Reconnect Program, CatholicCare Canberra and Goulburn

2. Outstanding New Talent Award:
Winner: Arianne Wright, Family Tree House, Conflict Resolution Service
Commendation: Emma Gibson, Canberra PCYC
Commendation: Liz Pallas, Communities@Work

3. Outstanding Contribution to Young People Award:
Winner: Moo Klue Di Gay, Multicultural Youth Services ACT

4. Lifetime Achievement Award: 
Winner: Denise Brasser, Youth Education Program & Youth Connections, Anglicare

5. Staff Achievement Award:
Winner: Jayson Perrin, Melba Copland Secondary School

E Bulletin category: