Total: $0.00 AUD

Congratulations to the 2016 Yogie Award Winners!

Thursday, December 1, 2016 - 12:30
The Youth Coalition is pleased to announce the winners of the 2016 Yogie Awards, which were announced on Friday 2 December 2016.

The annual Yogie Awards recognise, celebrate, promote, and reward outstanding practice in working with young people in the ACT and surrounding areas. The YOGIES are presented annually by the ACT Minister for Disability, Children and Youth. Awards are presented in 11 categories that recognise the work of groups and individuals, with young people, workers, individuals, programs and services invited to provide nominations. The judging panel is comprised of a representative from ACT Government, the community youth sector, and the Youth Coalition.

The winners of the 2016 YOGIES are:

  • Outstanding Achievement in Youth Participation Award: The Street University - Ted Noffs Foundation
  • Innovation in Service Delivery Award: The Sotka Yuha Young Warriors Society Program - Laynon High School
    Commendation: LGBTQIA+ and Allies Prom - YWCA Canberra
    Commendation: Teen Start-Up - Lighthouse Business Innovation Centre
  • Excellence in Research and Evaluation Award: Young People and Gambling Project - The Youth Coalition of the ACT
  • Excellence in Organisational Practice Award: Comorbidity Project - CatholicCare
    Commendation: Child Youth and Family Programs, Woden Community Service
  • Outstanding Youth Worker Award: Summer Will Leiper - Oasis
    Commendation: Shaun Hodson - Harrison School
  • Outstanding New Talent: Andrew Hill - Anglicare (Woden Youth Engagement Team)
  • Outstanding Contribution to Young People: Dr Rebecca Jacobs - The Junction Youth Health Service
    Commendation: Alan Tongue - The Aspire Program &  Sophie Hope - Mind The Gap Festival
  • Champion Youth Worker: Nicky Link - CREATE Foundation
  • Lifetime Achievement Award: Tracy Brown - headspace Canberra
  • Staff Acknowledgement Award: Aunty Agnes Shea, OAM
  • Youth in the Media Award: James Hall - The Chronicle
    Commendation: Adam Shirley - ABC Radio

Congratulations to all the nominees who do an exceptional job of supporing young people in our community. 

Please click on the following links to see photos of the award ceremony, or download the Yogie Awards Booklet which containts more information about the winning programs and people. 

E Bulletin category: